A speeding ticket, reckless driving charge, DWI charge, or another arrest for a New Jersey traffic offense can grow into a serious legal problem if not handled correctly. Many people think they can pay a fine and move on, only to suffer long-term consequences. Did you know pleading or being found guilty of a traffic offense in New Jersey may cost you a fine and jail time? Or loss of driving privileges? Even higher insurance premiums? If a car accident left someone else injured, you could face a lawsuit and held responsible for the accident.
Fines cost range as follows:
- $100 for being an unlicensed driver or driving with an expired license ($300 total)
- $250 for driving with a suspended license ($750 total)
- $250 for operating a vehicle without auto liability insurance ($750 total)
- $100 for failure to insure a moped ($300 total)
- $1,000 for first and second driving while intoxicated (DUI) ($3,000 total)
- $1,500 for a third DUI within three years of a previous offense ($4,500 total)
- $1,000 for refusing to take a test to measure blood alcohol concentration (BAC) ($3,000 total)
- $150 plus $25 per point for accumulating 6 or more points on your driver’s license within 3 years.
If you are convicted of a moving violation, the N.J. Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) can add points to your driving record. Drivers who get 6 or more points within 3 years will be assessed a surcharge. Drivers who accumulate 12 or more points on their record will have their license suspended. Having points on your license will also increase your insurance rates.